ChurchYear.Net FAQ logo



Can I Eat Meat Broth, Stock, Sauces, Fats, Or Gelatin On Lent Fast and Abstinence Days?

An Answer to Lent Food Restriction Questions

Turkey burgers cooking with green beans and onions

For Catholics, there are certain fasting and abstinence guidelines during Lent. The guidelines vary depending on age, but for most people, the rules prohibit the consumption of meat. The Church defines "meat" less broadly than do most vegetarians. Meat is defined as the flesh of a warm-blooded animal. So, foods like beef, chicken, and turkey are out, but fish and other seafood are allowed. This is why Catholics often eat fish during Lent.

So, what about things like stock, broth, and even fat? Current canon law technically allows the consumption of broths, stock, fats, and sauces from animals on Lenten fast and abstinence days. This even includes possible little bits of meat that may make it into the sauce or bacon grease.

Also, Catholics are allowed to consume gelatin products (such as vitamin capsules and gelatin desserts). The reasoning is that gelatin is so refined as to have no meat taste or smell.

Of course, seeing as the current restrictions are pretty easy to follow, it may be a better idea to avoid stocks and broths made from animals, and find products derived from fish or vegetables, as these are readily available. However, based on the bare minimum requirements, you can use stocks and broths from animal products.


Check Out Another ChurchYear.Net Answers
Basic Information from: ChurchYear.Net Basic
ChurchYear.Net Online Prayer Book
Advanced Information from ChurchYear.Net

By

Updated 02-15-2017